This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Several serious concerns in Arizona

Okay this is my first time posting after talking about my situation at work with my brother and family I have discovered several things that seem... well..fishy to me.
    I am a bartender at a local restaurant. There are several issues that I believe may violate both federal and/or state law. It will be easier to state them in list format:

1) Working off the clock: We are encouraged to clock in at a time after we have been working for what may add up to 45 minutes or longer. We are required to clock out before counting our till and our tips (this can take up to a half hour or an hour) thus negating the ability to declare tips accurately. We are also required to attend monthly meetings without clocking in, sometimes after working until 12-2 am the previous night. The meetings are at 8 am. We have all been told that failure to attend these meetings is grounds for termination.

2)Hostile work environment: If the owner or manager does not like you, or if you are not doing things as they are encouraged to be done. (if you rock the boat) then your hours are cut and you are nitpicked until you quit. They don't fire people to avoid paying unemployment I have seen this done several times. It has been flat out said to me.

3)Confidentiality agreement: we are all required upon hiring to sign a confidentiality agreement not to discuss work or anything that happens at work with anyone including family members. I have seen this particular rule violated by everyone including the manager and owner. But according to them I am not allowed to go home and tell my loved ones that I had a bad day or even why.