Salary Exempt and PTO issue Texas

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salary Exempt and PTO issue Texas

Here are the facts as I see them (some may have no bearing at all but I want to include as much information as possible):

• I am a salaried employee expected to work 40 hours per week.
    • The "S" Corporation I work for is in Texas and has approximatly 52 employees.
    • I am a Professional Engineer licensed by the State of Texas and several others, have two advanced degrees, set my own schedule, prioritize my own tasks, etc. I don’t think there is any doubt I pass the test for the Professional Exemption. I also likely pass the Executive Exemption test (I have more than two employees working under me, have the right to hire and fire, etc.).
    • I am one of six shareholders in the company that I work for. I am a minority shareholder. There is no majority shareholder.
    • I commonly work more than 40 hours a week.
    • I get paid for every hour I work over 40 hours on a basis of my salary divided by 2080 hours. This is referred to as “premium time.”
    • The company provides me with a 216 hour Paid Time Off (PTO) pool each year.
    • If I do not use my PTO, at the end of the year the company pays me for my unused PTO on a basis of 0.5 times my salary divided by 2080 hours.
    • I also get a “production” bonus based on the profitability of my department.

Due to my position and the type of work I do, my clients or employees sometimes cannot wait for me to get back from time off (vacation, sick days, etc.) so I frequently do an hour or more of work on these time off days. On my timesheet for my time off days, I put the number of hours I work and then add the rest of the eight hour day to PTO expecting it to be deleted from the pool of PTO given to me by the company. During payroll, the time I apply to PTO for these days gets changed to Overhead and there is no deduction in my PTO pool.