X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Non-Compete in Employment Agreement - New York

Hi -

I am thinking of leaving my job and moving to CA. I would like to stay in the same field, but have what appears to be an overly broad non-compete in my employment agreement. I am a Consulting Manager at a Big 4 Accounting/Tax/Consulting firm. A Manager is the lowest level management position at the firm (just above a Senior Analyst). I would like to change jobs when I move to a smaller firm where I could have an ownership stake, but remain in the same industry. The industry is so small, I would almost certainly find myself at the same clients within the Non-Compete time frame.

My question is if the agreement is enforceable given how broad it is. Furthermore, if it's not enforceable is it expected that it would be struck down or "blue penciled" to be limited in scope?

The language is below: