X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scheduling Conflicts - Lack of Respect for available hours? Michigan

Greetings:

How do I begin to ask this question. I work for this company and I was hired in as a Part time associate. I'm also a Part time to full time student. Lately ( past 6 months ). My employer has been completely screwing up my schedule. I understand that the employer has the last say in when and how many hours I work. I understand that it is out of respect that they work around your hours.

During this last 6 months, I've been scheduled at 39.9 hrs every week. Randomly I will come in to work and I will be asked to leave because I've gotten to close to 40 hrs. One or twice is okay, but 3 times in a row...????

.... Now on to my other problem.

Like I said earlier I'm a part time college student. Because of the work hours, I've failed one class out of two and missed about half of each class due to work. Is there any type of Michigan law that protects me under this.

I've even been called in to work on non-work days due to fellow employes calling in sick or what not. I'm fine with that. I hope this would happen if I could ever do it.. ugh... One time I told my boss- I'm sorry I can't cover her shift- at that point I was threaten with termination.

I've talked to my boss and he laughed.
    I've talked to his boss and he said its my problem.

I'm currently looking for another job but because of the job market here in Michigan I can't find anything worth chasing- mostly because of the Pay vs Distance to Drive ( gas)

One thing I would like to add that really ticks me to living hell off.... is.....

Where I work we have 3 managers... and we have a bench of part times...... And we have one full time. The full time works an avg of 27.7 hrs a week. This person has full benefits and makes any where from 25-35k a year. I work 39.9 hrs a week and I get 7.45 and hr... whats wrong with this picture?