Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from www.LaborLawCenter.com, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

California - Service Employees, at what time are you allowed to clock in?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California - Service Employees, at what time are you allowed to clock in?

I am a Service Electrician in Ca., my regular start time is 7:30am. My boss, now implemented a new rule and im not sure if its legal. I get to my job at around 7:20am and my employer does not let me punch-in on our time sheet, until they give me all of my service calls for the day, load the service truck, and check the fluids of the truck (truck provided by employer for service). Sometimes i don't leave the shop until its well over 8am, when they finally let me clock in. Also they have changed all of the drive time we do from location to location to min wage. They gave us the reason of " times are tough" is this legal?

I assume you're an hourly non exempt employee - if not, please correct me.

It would be legal to pay you min. wage for drive time unless you have a binding
    employment contract to the contrary. They can't change your pay rate for time
    already worked at the old rate though. (time you worked before they notified
    you of the change)

However, it is illegal to not pay you for all time worked. You are working
    before your punch in time & should be paid for this time.
    Last edited by Betty3; 01-20-2011, 05:39 PM.
    Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment