This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can't work because I hit a deer? Maryland

I'm a non DOT driver in Maryland. A few days ago I hit a deer with the company van. After the completion of my shift, I had to have a drug screen and was told I could not drive until the company had received the negative result. I lost two days of pay for an accident I had no fault in. Can they do this legally? I understand a post accident drug screen but the pay I lost seems like punishment.

Yes, they can do that legally.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

thanks for the response. what about if someone hits your vehicle while you're not in it?

Comment

If you are looking for a laundry list that says, you cannot be suspended without pay in the following situations, there isn't one.

Assuming you are non-exempt, you can legally be suspended without pay for pretty much any reason the employer can come up with. It may or may not be fair, but the law does not get that detailed. There are limits to why an exempt employee can be suspended without pay but not non-exempt. The government simply does not get involved with how the employer runs his business to that extent.
        The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Maybe not fair but as noted, not illegal.
          Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment