This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Job Description North Carolina

I've been working with a company for about 7 months now. I'm a designer and the company owns & manages several hotels. I help with the design of their renovation projects & have some general office duties.

My boss (who is part owner of the company) told me last week that I need to take a class to learn how to install wallpaper so that I can fix the wallpaper at her house. Can she do this legally? If I do wallpaper repair at her house and screw it up, can I be liable? I have never installed wallpaper before and am certainly not comfortable doing so. When I asked her where I should take a class, she would not provide me with any help and told me to figure it out. When I was interviewed and hired nothing was ever said about me doing work at any of the owner's homes.

If I was working as a fast food cook, I can't imagine it would be legal for my manager to demand I cook a meal for him and his family at his home. Request it for extra pay, yes, but not demand it.

Yes, she can require you take this class and yes, she can require you do the work. There is no law that is going to prohibit it.

Are you exempt or nonexempt?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I'm not sure if she wants it done during office hours or not. I am a salaried employee.

Comment

Salaried doesn't mean much by itself - it's just a payment method. Do you happen to know if you are exempt or non-exempt?
        Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment

First...she CANT MAKE you do anything.