X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• lack of work, increased in work travel distance New Jersey

Hello im a union concrete mixer operator,

My employer do to lack of work, hasnt been able to provide us with 40+ hours in close to a year and a half. We have all been collecting partial unemployment since we averaged 20- 30 hours a week. The company has 5 terminals, drivers are assinged home terminals to work out of where we pick up our mixers and assist the other terminals if needed. About a year ago they started making us drive our vehicles to the different terminals and using the trucks there, rather than us driving to our home terminals and using our company mixers like in the past. The company offered to pay us $20 for every day we had to drive our vehicles to any terminal other than our own. Lack of work has continued and our unemployment claims have expired, and when we reopened new claims our benefits had decreased drastically. Most of our claims where reduced by $200 a week, which took our weekly partial benefits from around $500 to $300 a week. We are all top rate drivers who averaged $700 to $1000 a week before the company started to lack work. Now the company refuses to pay us the $20 for travel expenses and requires us to travel 2-3 times the distance we normally drive to our home terminals.
    A lot of us have lost our medical benefits, and now we average under 25 hours a week.

Due to lack of work and increase in tavel distance many of us simply cant afford to keep working here, traveling 2 to 3 times the distance we normally travel on half the income. some of us are going into foreclosure and bankruptcy and the company simply refuses to lay off even tho some of us have requested so.

can a company hold on to employess this way even tho they cant provide reasonable work to support our families? i went from 45k a year to 25k im lossing everything. it cost us more to work than to collect unemployment.