This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not getting fair pay - Florida

I have been working in my "parents" business for 7 years. The business license is in their name and I have run the business for the past 7 years. Up until a year and a half ago, they paid me a decent wage. I had my own home, nice car, insurance, everything. Now that they don't "approve" of my fiance, they have stopped paying me all together except for my car payment and $400 of my rent, and cell phone is paid through the business. (which I am sure they can write off each on their taxes each year, so no loss for them!)

I work SEVEN days a week, 10 hour days and my car payment is a little under $200. So doing the math, $200 for car, $400 for rent, and I'd even say $100 for the cell (even though I know my portion is not that much) so that is $700 a MONTH for 240 hour work month. (That works out to $2.92 an hour) That is just the work IN the business, and we all know there is more time put in at home.

How can I get paid a proper wage? I don't want to get my parents in "trouble" but this is down right slave labor. I am loyal to them so I don't want to quit on them, but I may have to.... any suggestions? If I quit, could I claim unemployment? I don't know the rules or anything! Please help! Thanks so much!

How can I get paid a proper wage? You can always file a complaint with your State's Department of Labor. They must pay you at least minimum wage.