This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I be denied a UI claim for taking GRE courses? California

I have been working non-stop for over 15 years in California. Recently the company I was working for had lay offs and I was of course one of those few.

My initial claim from the California EDD was approved and I received one check so far. However also during this time, I enrolled in GRE courses for a graduate program, so in my claim form I checked the box stating I was taking courses (training). Whether this should not have been done or not I am unsure as it asked the question "Are you enrolled in any classes?"

Today I received a letter stating that I may not be eligible because I am taking courses that may not be approved by the state.

1. I am Veteran I have served my country for six years.
    2. I have been working for over 15 years paying taxes.
    3. My initial claim went through without any problems.
    4. I am taking courses at night to better myself how is this a problem in the states view and why are they punishing me for taking a proactive approach to this downturn in the economy?
    5. Is there any recourse I can take, I believe and feel this is wrong?

I will drop the courses if they make me not eligible, but I feel that this is counter-intuitive. Why is does the state insist that any training not approved by them makes you not eligible?

Only the state can decide if you will receive benefits or not.

They are mainly concerned that taking classes/courses will interfer with your looking for work or being able to accept available work.

They make exceptions for approved training & other special programs.
    Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment