This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Required to work off the clock. Massachusetts

Ok here it is my wife soon to be is being REQUIRED to attend a work meeting on her day off. She is being made to do a presentation about work and the entire meeting is all based around new items being implemented at her job. Her boss said he doesn't have the labor to pay the associates but he is having it at a bowling ally and letting them bowl for free, giving them food, and buying them drinks.
    The question I have is if she can be REQUIRED to attend this without being compensated for working. The fact that he is supplying food or having it somewhere else does not negate the fact that this is a work meeting he is trying to play off as recreation so he doesn't have to pay his employees. What scares me is she works for one of the largest Pharmacies in the USA.
    As a manager myself I am very up to date on labor laws and in MA unless you are an on call employee you can not be required to work outside your scheduled shift. Also federal law doesn't allow for your employeer to make you work without being paid for it if you are a non-exempt employee.... I think that's called slavery....
    I am looking to where I can find the law in MA in black and white or federal law that states this and or who I can call. I looked at the MA Law website but all I can find are phone numbers to report fraudulent activity.

Please any advice or help WOULD BE OUTSTANDING!!!

Thanks all....

P.S. This is a common practice for her boss to make his employees work off the clock..
    NCMA
    Last edited by NCMA; 03-31-2009, 12:14 PM.