This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California labor law and employment contracts that contradict the law

I'm new to payroll and am getting paranoid at violating labor law without knowing it since California is so specific and strict!

Our company is thinking of stopping the accrual of executive PTO and just stopping time tracking for them altogether since they are truly exempt. I have been told by our HR consultants that the remaining PTO balance MUST be paid to the employee. My boss is insisting that we can have them sign a contract waiving their balances or donating them to the company or something. He basically told me that if you have a legal contract agreeing to something, it doesn't matter what the labor law says about it (this has come up about other issues as well). Is this true? If not, please provide any information I can show him.

He wants to save the money by not paying out the PTO but I don't want it to cost us more in the long run if it turns out its not legal.

I know there are certain rights that can be waived such as eligibility for overtime if you sign an agreement to work 4-10hr days, or whatever the CEO of google signed to receive a dollar annual salary (below minimum wage etc).

Thanks!

An employment contract cannot make employment law go away.

PTO/vacation, once earned, CANNOT be forfeited in California.
    http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/FAQ_Vacation.htm

If you do not have a "bona fide sick pay plan" (and PTO would generally qualify if it's at least 5 days), you cannot dock the salary of exempt employees if they are absent for a full day due to illness or injury.
    http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/ESA/Ti...CFR541.602.htm
    specifically, paragraph 2