This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CA per diem violations? California

Hi first post, I work in construction in CA. My crew of six to eight have been working out of town in Los Angeles for eight months and our employer has not paid us any per diem and make most of the crew pay for their own hotels and meals with no reimbursement at all. They actually take the money out of their checks without permission. I am wondering if this is legal(do not think so), if not, can we be reimbursed and should I contact my lawyer and the labor board? Thanks for the info.

Under CA law (see below), the employer generally does have to reimburse certain expenses but they do not have to use the Per Diem method (IRS publication 1542) as the method. I am also going to include a pointer to the CA deduction rules.

I do have a question however. Where do you normally work for this employer? The reason I am asking is that it make a difference to how the expense rules work. Example, Jim and Bob both normally work for the same employer in San Francisco. Let's say that I send Jim to a worksite in San Francisco, and Bob to a worksite in Los Angeles. At best Jim is going to get mileage, and even that is not a sure thing. Jim is not legally "away from home as far as this employer is concerned, but Bob is. These are legally two very different situations as far as CA law is concerned.

Let's also assume I hire a brand new employee (Carol) to work in LA. Even if Carol normally lives in SF, she never worked for me in SF, and there is nothing in California law that would require me to pay for her LA living expenses. Of course, any of these folks could sign a contract requring the employer to pay something not inherently required to law. And even if the payment occurs, there is a whole other set of laws (mostly belonging to IRS) that determines whether or not the payments are taxable.

Your question has the potential to be a "the devil is in the details" type of question.