This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employer will not report Virginia

If an employer refuses to report earned income, though insisted in paying with a check. Is there any recourse which could alleviate the employees tax liability to the irs for the funds?

The employee could not have been paid as a 1099 independent contractor as the employee day to day activities were at the sole discression of the employer.

Basically trying to determine what the best course is for filing returns with the IRS.

Is the employer just not paying the money to the IRS or ar they misclassifying you as an independent contractor?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Reporting

This is the situation as I can best assess it.

The employer lives out of her business account. That being everything from her mortgage a new pair of shoes a trip to the movies or paying my wife. I highly doubt that she is reporting anything to the IRS as they have nothing on file for her SSN. Not to mention my wife was never asked for her SSN.

I beleive the employers mid set it that if the IRS ever comes down on her she is at that point going to drop the boxes of receipts she has on their laps. ( I know this is past the point of retarted though I am confident this is her beleif)

We requested her W2 at the end of the year which she had said she would provide at the begining of the year. Though she refused and became hostile. I had my wife find new employment.

Though I am not sure how to proceed forward with filing. Dont know if I can hold her liable for the money my wife owes to the IRS or not. By the definition provided to me from the IRS my wife simply can not be classified as an independant contractor.

Though the employer never set up a method for witholdings from her check.