Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Independent Contractor whose employer is holding and bouncing checks California

I have been working for a boutique spa for about 9 months. about 5 months ago my paycheck bounced, and it took the owner 3 weeks to reimburse me. due to my threatening and anger about the situation the owner got a loan in order to pay the therapists on time and not hold checks, but that loan ran out after 2 months. now all of the therapists checks are bouncing and our paychecks and tips are being held. one therapist who quit went to the bank today to deposit 3 checks which were owed her from the last 6 weeks, and was told there were insufficient funds in our employers account to support the deposit. now I am sitting here with my paycheck not able to deposit it and rent is due in 3 days. I know as an independent contractor we are due our tips in cash daily and our checks on time. who can we go to or report the owner to in order to get this situation in hand? and get our money!

You sort of have two different issues.
    - All workers are legally either employees or independent contractors (IC). Employees are subject to labor law and can file wage claims with CA-DLSE. IC are not subject to labor law and cannot file wage claims with CA-DLSE. IC are legally considered to be vendors. IC have customers, not employers. IC are subject to contract law only. IC need to go to court to resolve problems with their customers.
    - Legally the government has rules on which workers are IC and which workers are employees. It is possible that you have been misclassified, and could file a wage claim (and UI claim) stating that you were really an employee. CA would then review your classification.
    http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs13.pdf
    http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/HowToFileWageClaim.htm
    - Since there are a number of workers involved, it might be worth to collectively see a lawyer.