This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Being Questioned about my sick time Illinois

I have been working for my employer for a little over 7 months now and I have accrued 6 PTO days. Last week I had to take 3 days off because I had strep throat. My boss called me and told me that I needed a doctor’s note stating that I can come back which was not a problem. When I came back to work last Friday I turned in my doctor’s note along with my PTO form for taking the days off. When I got back to my office my boss came in and started drilling me on what I was doing taking 3 days of PTO. I simply told him and showed him my doctor’s note yet he still was asking me why I too off the three days. He said that upper management frowns on people taking more than one day of sick PTO. I told him that i was in my right to and that i had those days coming to me besides I brought in the requested doctors note as well.

I am not sure about this but isn’t he violating my rights as far as asking what I was doing on my PTO? The reason I am asking is because I have a meeting with HR about this. Thanks in advance.

He is not violating your "rights" by questioning you about your absence.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Not at all. Despite a widespread belief that employers cannot ask any question about anything related to medical reasons, an employer is within their rights to inquire about the reasons for time off. They are not under any legal obligation to approve time off, FMLA notwithstanding, and if they want more information before deciding whether to approve it or not, nothing in the law gives you the protected right to withhold the info. It's up to you if you want to provide it or not but there can be unhappy repercussions if you don't.