This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sub Contractor or Not Texas

I was hired to work as an accountant with a real estate office and when I accepted the job now find out I'm a sub contractor, I will have to pay my own taxes. I am required to work the hours the owner sets for me and just recently was yelled at cussed at and accused of riding the clock because I left the office to get a cup of coffee, I was gone 15 minutes, and I am not allowed to take lunch breaks unless she is buying and we eat together. Am I a sub- contractor and how did I become one and how do I go back to being an employee??

By sub-contractor, if you mean independent contractor, I'm doubtful. See here:
    http://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc762.html
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I am referred to as a sub contractor and will be given a 1099 at year end.

Comment

That's an independent contractor. There are really only two classifications of workers. Employee is the default. Every worker is considered an employee unless the worker meets the criteria for IC status.
        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I have read some of the material you requested and I do not see how I would be in the IC status. Other employees feel the same. The company does not have any employees she treats everyone as IC including high school students. Is that legal?

Comment

Nope.
            What does she say when presented with the information?

Comment