This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forced minimum hours between shifts? New York

Hello. I'm not sure if I've reached the right place for this question so if not, my apologies. I work as a paramedic in a hospital based EMS department in New York City. My question is regarding the amount of time off required between shifts. For example, we can work either single (8hrs) or double shifts (16hrs) as part of our schedule. Recently, the department instituted a policy (supposedly for safety reasons) whereby if you work 16 hours, you must be off 16 hours "before your next regularly scheduled shift". My first question is can an employee be forced to be off 16 hours after working 16 hours? Second, the way the policy is written and intended (as was stated to me when I addressed this issue with both my Operations Manager and Associate Director), is that if you work 16hrs you must be off 16hours before your next regular tour (i.e. part of your normal regularly scheduled shifts), but not if it's NOT a regularly scheduled shift. For example, if someone normally works M-F from 6a-2p as part of their regular schedule and wanted to pick up OT on one of those days from 2p-10p they would not be able to because they wouldn't have 16hrs off before their next regularly scheduled shift. Yet, if as part of their regular schedule, someone else worked from 6a-10p on Tues and would normally come back on Wed to work from 2p-10p, they COULD pick up an OT shift on Wed from 6a-2p with only 8hrs off in between two doubles because the requirement is 16hrs off before your next REGULARLY scheduled tour. In spite of this seeming to contradict the whole "safety" aspect of the policy, it's allowed (again, in spite of my attempting to address this issue with both my Operations Manager and Associate Director). My logic to them was that if the policy is being implemented for safety reasons, then that should be the policy all the time. I also mentioned to them that no other de