X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can a supervisor say this? North Carolina

Hello,

I'm trying to find out if it's legal for a supervisor to tell you that you don't have any spelling or grammar skills and MAKE you go to school to improve these skills up to their standards? When I say "make" me go to school for this issue, he's telling me if I do not go to school for my spelling and grammar then I will lose my job.

I have been with this company for almost 6 years as a supervisor, and this person just joined the company 4 months ago as a director of my current department. This all occurred during my annual review today (09/26/08) which I still don't think he was qualified to do seeing as he's only been with the company since the beginning of June, and was not with the company to evaluate my performance for the beginning of the year.

I am a college graduate, and up until this point, I have had no issues with any other managers that have come and gone within the company. The previous managers have never discussed any sort of issues with me like this person has. Every week it's something different with him. I truly feel as though he was trying to belittle me, and just as well, we employ alot of people with various disabilities and this has me concerned for those employee's. I wouldn't want him to say something out of the way like this to them, but I have heard him say deroggatory things regarding some of the disabled employees. I don't have a recording and I was the only one that heard it, so I don't think there's anything I can do regarding that issue either.

Thank any/everyone for any information they can provide me with regarding this issue. I truly appreciate any help I can get.

Sincerely,
    ~Lost~

There is no law that says that an employer cannot say that your skills are lacking and cannot require you to improve them. There is no law that says you cannot be fired if you fail to meet your employer's expectations.