This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commisioned Sales Person "Fined" $1000 by employer. Texas

I am a finance manager at a auto dealership. I do not recieve a salery or hourly income. My income is a percentage of the amount of profit I earn by selling extended warrantys, life insurance, GAP insurance, etc.

My employer has fined me $1000 for violating company policy. I had a customer who wanted to sign automobile purchase paperwork for his wife since she was bed ridden and ill. I told him that I could not allow him to do that but he could bring the paperwork back signed. He did bring the paperwork back and it was signed. I had a feeling that he had signed for his wife, however, I did not press the issue.

Later the same customer openly admitted that he signed the documents for his wife. Because I did not compare the signature of his wife against her drivers license, my employer told me I could either pay them a $1000 fine for or loose my job.

I have a wife and kids and need my job. I told them I would pay the fine, and they subtracted it from my commisions at the end of that month. I also signed a form that said if I did it again could and probably would fire me.

Is it legal for an employer to fine me? Can they make me pay them money for something I did that violates their policy if it's not "safety related" (like driving a forklift in a dangerous way)?

Fine??

Your employer may not withhold (deduct) from your pay absent a law, regulation, or written consent. Your employer may say that if you do not pay them a $1,000 "fine", you will be fired. Your choice. So long as you are paid the full wages to which you are entitled, the Texas Payday Law is satisfied. The question of extortion remains.

I see you have posted a couple of problems. Maybe you ought to ply your trade elsewhere, and refuse to pay the "fine".

Comment

Plying my trade elseware.

The "Notice of Concern" that I signed says: