This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salary Exempt Employee Pennsylvania

I am an Assistant Office Manager. Just because I have manager in my title, does that qualify me as an exempt employee? Sometimes I have worked 80+ hours a week and take home the same pay. That has put me working for less than minimum wage if it's was broken down per hours worked. I do not get any kind of bonus. What are the qualifications of an exempt employee? Please help. Thank you!

Job titles are legally meaningless. Your starting point is to look at the White Collar exceptions. The Administrative and Executive exceptions are the most likely for your employer to have claimed.
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

If it is determined that you are an exempt employee, you get paid a fixed weekly salary no matter how many hours you work. Bonuses are not required unless you have an employment contract or CBA guaranteeing such.
      Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment

Thank you for all the help so far. It looks like I qualify as an exempt employee, however when I started a little over a year ago my wages did not meet the $455 per week salary requirement. According to Fact Sheet 17C I should be paid at least $455 per week. I was paid less than that for 53 weeks with the company. Did I read this Fact Sheet incorrectly? Do I have a right to ask my employer for reimbursement?

Comment

Yes, you do. Either that, or they need to pay you overtime for that period. You could also file a claim with the state Dept. of Labor.