This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Part time salary exempt? Indiana

I have worked for a Non-Profit foundation in the Indiana office for 2 years as a part time (at 28 hours) salary exempt employee. The foundation has at least 60 others in my same position. I do not supervise any staff or do I have a college degree. During my time at this company working extra hours has been expected but you must always work your minimum hours. I do have a small amount of sick days and 2 personal days a year. I also receive vacation days. I recently attended a mandatory 3 day training and in lieu of my hours that week I used those days. In recent discussion the foundation said we could not longer do that but instead would be required to work 6 days that week. They also said they could give us comp time if they wanted to but that would be on a case by case basis. Is this legal? Has anyone ever heard of a part-time exempt position? Thanks~

Originally posted by indymom1 View Post
    Has anyone ever heard of a part-time exempt position? Thanks~
    Sure. The problem is that there is no separate set of rules for "part-time exempt" employees. A "part-time" employee can be Exempt, but they would be subject to exactly the same rules as a "full time" employee.

Easy stuff first. Verify your Exempt status. If that fails, then the Exempt rules are sort of a "who cares". There are something like 100 different Exempt classifications but most of these are very industry specific. And Non-Profits per se are under the same rules that everyone else is for. When most people talk about Exempt, they are talking about the so-called White Collar exceptions. Based on what you have said, the Executive and Professional are off the table. The obvious one left is the Administrative exception.
    White Collar exceptions.

-----