X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tipped Employee - Sort Of...? Louisiana

Good morning,

Before posting this question, I have used the search function to see whether or not my question has been already answered. If I missed it, or if this is in the incorrect category, please advise me accordingly. Thank you.

Background:

I work in the hospitality industry. I work security for a hotel in Louisiana, the job I was hired to do, and make well over the minimum wage. Around January of '08, the hotel has decided that it would like to return to offering 24 hour room service. However, the hotel did not wish to hire someone for the position and has told our department that security will deliver room service during overnight hours.

The conditions stated to us, in exchange for our department taking up this task, was that we would receive any cash tips given to us by the guest, as well as an included 20% gratuity charge on the bill, paid to us in cash by the food & beverage manager. We were told that we would not be required to pay any taxes on this income.

From the time we began doing this, up until last week, we were not taxed for it, though we did report all tips given to us, to the company. The company has record of this.

Last week, the company decided we should be getting taxed for this earned income (as I believed we probably should have been from the very beginning), and without any notice, verbal or written, posted our tip amounts, and we were taxed from our checks for tips earned during the last pay period.

I have a few questions:

1: Is this legal? Given that we are not paid any extra for doing room service as security officers, we do not receive separate checks for it. We are paid on our check for security work only, though we handle room service work during the same hours.
    2: Is this company allowed to begin taxing tips without prior notification to its employees?