This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• points system Washington

I am a cook in washington state and i have a question about something. My job recently enacted a rule saying that anytime we call in sick we will be given a point. Now the way this system works is by giving us one point for calling in properly, 2 for inproper call in, and 3 for a no call no show. I had a cold 2 weeks ago and i got a point for that and i have recently come down with pink eye and the doctor said i would be out for 7 to 10 days.... this is enough for me to be fired. I brought in a doctors note for the time i was sick and they refused it. They said the only form they will accept is a FMLA form and my doctor said this is for when you are out repeatedly due to a chronic disease. I feel as if i am being strong armed into coming to work when i am sick... and for gods sake i am a cook. I could be fined or lose my food handlers permit. I dont think i should be getting these points, especially since i work around food. If i were to go in the resteraunt could also be closed for god knows how long! I just need to know if this is legal because i mean crap happens and i might get sick again and if i do i am sure i will be fired because of missing so many days due to the pink eye! please someone help me out here.... let me know what my options are. Many thanks ya'll.

jackson

Whether or not pink eye would meet the defintion of a "serious medical condition", I'm not expert enough to say. However, a doctor's note has no force in law except where FMLA is involved.

Are you sure an absence of that long would be multiple points? In most of the point systems I've seen a single illness that results in multiple days off in a row is treated the same as a one-day call in, i.e. one occurrence, not an occurrence for each day.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

This is a no-win situation.