This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• On-call laws in Arkansas

I am a non-exempt IT employee in Arkansas. I am also a part-time college student. When I first got my job, there was no mention of being on-call. About three months after getting the job, I was placed on an on-call rotation with three other employees, something I had no problem with. I have the phone for one week out of every four, and I must be within "a reasonable distance" (they sidestep every time I ask them to define "reasonable") of the plant and must answer any call within 10 minutes. Let me go over some situations that I have had since:

1) I received a call during a mid-term in class that I could not leave. I received 4 more calls on both my personal phone and the company phone before the test was over. I was verbally reprimanded for not answering, even though leaving the test would have meant sure failure of the class.

2) I often leave town on weekends that I am not on call to go out with friends. I went to a basketball game with my fiancee in a town 1 1/2 hours away while I was not on call. I received a call from my boss right after halftime and had to stay on the phone with him to walk through a repair procedure until the game was over. I missed the last half of the game and this ruined the trip for both of us.

3) Last night, again while not on call, I went out to a movie with some friends and turned my personal phone off. I had some drinks afterward (though I did not get drunk) and forgot to turn my phone back on until going to bed at 11pm. I found that I had two voicemails, both from my boss, saying that they needed my help. They were left at 5pm and 6pm and I figured that I was too late and went to sleep. This morning, I was again verbally reprimanded by my boss and told that I now must keep my pager on me at all times so that he may get in touch with me.