This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California

I am currently an exempt employee for a large computer company in California. I am a database administrator and work from home. Some of the people in my group (who live in other states) are being re-classified as non-exempt. Part of the deal is that they are getting a 15% reduction in pay. They are being told that they can make up that pay by claiming 5 hours overtime per week. I am still exempt but work overtime especially on the weeks that I am on call. Should I be concerned that this may eventually occur to me? Why is the company is doing this.

Not actually having talked to your company I do not know for sure, but I can guess. The federal and CA rules on which IT workers can be Exempt are legally pretty tight and it is fairly common for companies to find out that their guesses were maybe not legal. It sounds possible that the employer took at hard look at the rules, decided that some of the employees were misclassified and fixed it. Lowering the wage rate makes sense because most Exempt employees work a lot of unpaid OT and in theory should have a higher wage rate to help compensate for this.

http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/complian...e_computer.pdf

http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/FAQ_OvertimeExemptions.htm
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

Reclassified as non-exempt and reduction in pay

The real issue is that the employees who were reclassified as non-exempt and whose salary was reduced are doing the same job as me and putting in the same amount of overtime. Is is just because they work in different state s and those statess laws may not be as strict as California?

Comment