This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1099 New Jersey

I work as an independent contractor under 1099. The company decided not to pay my last invoice (after the work has been submitted to them) and keeps ignoring my attempt to communicate with them.

What are my rights and how can approach/solve this issue?

Thank you for your advice.

You need to sue them.

There is also the off chance you were misclassified as an independant contractor, in which case other remedies would be available.

Comment

As an independent contractor, you are not an employee. Labor laws do not apply and your recourse is through contract law.

If you have a written contract, have it reviewed by an attorney experienced in such matters.

If the claim is small enough and you figure you don't need a lawyer, you can file in small claims court for what you are owed.
      Senior Professional in Human Resources and Certified Staffing Professional with over 30 years experience. Any advice provided is based upon experience and education, but does not constitute legal advice.

Comment

Following up on TheRed's post, it is pretty common for a company to call someone an Independent Contractor when they are, in fact, an employee. The IRS can make the call, if there is a question about that, but you would need to file Form SS-8 and I have no idea how long the IRS takes to get around to making the determination.

If they look at the form and find you are legitimately an IC, you are still stuck with contract law as the only way of getting paid.

It is probably faster to head to small claims and file.
        Senior Professional in Human Resources and Certified Staffing Professional with over 30 years experience. Any advice provided is based upon experience and education, but does not constitute legal advice.

Comment