This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• back flagging North Carolina

I work at a chevrolet dealership.I am paid flat rate(commision only),I am a auto technician,our service manager has told us we must fill out a "27 point inspection sheet,for each vehicle that we work on.I have no problem w/that because it will imform customer of any problems with vehicle.I have a couple issues,if we forget to fill out sheet he will back flag 3 tenths of 1 hour of time from pay.Another issue is if we miss something during inspection we are responsible to pay for part missed if one is needed and will be back flagged to pay for another tech to repair.EXAMPLE:I did 90 thousand mile service on a vehicle that payed 5hrs labor.Customer comes back week later to get north carolina safety inspection, I was out that day customer came back,another tech inspects vehicle and fails due to emergency brake not holding,customer complained to manager"why was this missed during 90k service?"manager has another tech to repair e-brake(needed new brake shoes).I was backed flagged 2 hrs labor to pay other tech to fix vehicle and may have to pay for parts.(roughly amounts to $150.00 out of my pocket)Is this legal.How can he back flagged me for a job I did not get paid for?Please any help would be very much appreciated.This happens to other techs in shop but not everyone is treated the same.

This is going to be a two-part answer. The first part will be "hard" law and the second part will not be.