This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• breach of contract California

I work as an independant contractor (W2) for a pharma through a consulting firm who cuts my check.
    The W2 contract I have is between the firm and myself and it requires a 30 days notice for termination.
    The firm has failed to honor their benefits obligations as listed in the contract which made me warn them about breach of contract.
    The pharma heard this week about these problems and decided to end my work assignement effective immediatley.
    Is this a violation of the 30 day notice? and does Labor Code 103 apply, ie my wages have to be paid immediatley?
    thanks

First of all, if you are receiving a W2, you aren't an independent contractor. If you are an independent contractor, then employment law doesn't apply and you are in the contracts law arena. Even if you do have a contract, you will need to take it to a lawyer to review to see if the terms are enforceable. Often what employees assume are contracts are not.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Thank you for your response.
      I was a little bit confused about whether I was an idependant contractor or not, since this is the first time I work on a contract basis.
      So if I receive a W2 at the end of the year, then I am not an idependant contractor??

Comment