This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can we still use old TD visa? California

I have TN visa, child has a TD visa. Both visas are valid till Nov 2008. Now I changes the job and gets a new TN visa. Do I have to apply for a new TD visa depending on the new TN for child? Or the child can use the old TD visa till Nov 2008?

http://travel.state.gov/visa/temp/ty...s_1274.html#11

I'm a bit rusty as I haven't had a TD visa in a few years but I do not believe you need a new visa as long as you are still working under a valid TN visa. The TD visa isn't tied to an employer but rather your visa status.

It wouldn't hurt to give the embassy a call to be sure that nothing has changed in the past few years.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Thank you very much, ElleMD. I will be working for the company with my new TN visa. Question is, I will not work for my previous company, is the old TN/TD visa still valid?

Comment

The TN is not, but I believe the TD still is as that is not employer specific. Again, it has been a few years since I've dealt with this so a call to the embassy or consulate would not be a bad thing.
        I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Thanks a lot! I just called a lawyer about it and got the similar answer as you said. Thanks again.

Comment

Originally posted by crazy viv View Post
            Thanks a lot! I just called a lawyer about it and got the similar answer as you said. Thanks again.
            Not surprising. ElleMD is very good on this subject.
            I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment