This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breaking the law or just being cheap? California

I work as a truck driver for a company in Southern Cal. Myself and five other drivers drive from Las Vegas to Ontario California and back bringing one load of beer back to Vegas each day. All five drivers live in Las Vegas. Yesterday the Ontario warehouse told us they had to do inventory the next day and that we could not come down to pick up our Thursdays loads. Each load picked up gets delivered the following day. They told us we had to deliver the loads we picked up yesterday today and that since we get paid by the mile and not by the hour we had to go deliver the loads today without pay. I live 40 miles from the warehouse in Las Vegas so this cost me not only time but gas money also.

All six drivers worked about three hours today without any pay and was told we got paid for the mileage to get the load here the day before.

The work we did today was driving to the warehouse in our own cars. Get into our work trucks, wait for the gats to open, then drive the trucks into the yard, back up to the docks and wait for the warehouse to unload each truck, then drive the trucks back outside the gate's and park them for the rest of the day.

If I understand you correctly, you normally drive to pick up the load on one day, and deliver it to the site the next, then that same day pick up another load which is then dropped off the following day, and the cycle repeats.

How are you usually paid for the delivery time? Wouldn't this be an issue everyday?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment