Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from www.LaborLawCenter.com, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do I get a full day's pay on termination day?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I get a full day's pay on termination day?

I am an exempt professional, working in California, and I was fired on Thursday morning. My employer decided not to pay me on Thursday, as his decision was IMO emotional, and he was not expecting to fire me on that day.

He paid me the next day through a combination of a regular direct deposit check (that covered the prior two ful weeks - it was a regularly scheduled payroll date) and he mailed out a separate final paycheck (also on Friday) to cover the partial week (that ended on Thursday, 11/8).

I received the separate paycheck in today's afternoon mail.
    However this morning I stopped in the DLSE office and filed a claim since I had no way of knowing if I was going to get my full pay.

In fact, I still am not sure that I have received my full pay, and it comes down to two separate issues which I must resolve before I adjust my claim tomorrow (to reflect the separate paycheck i received in today's mail) when I revisit the DLSE.

To begin with, I'm not sure if I have received the full regular pay I was entitled to. I've worked a lot of free overtime during my short stint at this firm as an exempt professional. But the workload was greatly reduced during my last 2+ weeks there, and I was not required to work any material overtime recently. This week I worked full eight-hour days on Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday. When I was terminated on Thursday, I had been in the office for only 30 minutes when I was called in for a 30 minute exit interview. I was instructed to clean out my office immediately, which I did in 15 minutes.