This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oklahoma law on overtime Oklahoma

I am a home health nurse. My company has cut out all overtime. I offered to work an extra day (which would be 50 hours for the week) for regular pay and they told me that its against the law and that if you work over 40 hours a week that the employer has to pay the overtime. Is this true?

Originally posted by angrockins View Post
    I am a home health nurse. My company has cut out all overtime. I offered to work an extra day (which would be 50 hours for the week) for regular pay and they told me that its against the law and that if you work over 40 hours a week that the employer has to pay the overtime. Is this true?
    They are correct. Any non-exempt employee who works more than 40 hours in a week has to be paid overtime at time and half for every hour over 40.
    Somedays you're the windshield and somedays you're the bug.

Comment

waiver

Is there some kind of waiver you can sign or something to do to get around it?

Comment

Originally posted by angrockins View Post
        Is there some kind of waiver you can sign or something to do to get around it?
        No, non-exempt employees (generally, those paid hourly) cannot waive rights to overtime.
        Senior Professional in Human Resources and Certified Staffing Professional with over 30 years experience. Any advice provided is based upon experience and education, but does not constitute legal advice.

Comment

http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/compliance/whd/whdfs23.htm