This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wrongful termination Texas

I worked as an exempt employee for a retailer at the Headquarters in Texas.
    One morning my boss asked me to join him in a meeting, which turned out to be with Loss prevention. After the meeting I was suspended and subsequently terminated 5 days later.

Here is what transpired in the meeting:

I have been accused of stealing large amounts of highly confidential data and since I did not admit to doing it, I was terminated. They tried to pressure me and coerce me to admit that I did it, sign a document to that effect and I might, might be able to save my job. I refused to do so and was subsequently suspended.

Here are the actual facts:

I was in the office on a Sunday evening (stupid, I know) in July and a female coworker of mine in a different department who was there the same time, called me and asked me if she could back-up her work on MY department's server, because her's was unstable and she had incidents where she could not get to her data due to server issues. I said, sure, put it on there and put it in my folder. I never copied, transmitted, opened, read, looked at or did anything with the data. It was roughly 2Gig of data.
    The data sat in the shared drive folder (freely accessible to anybody, not password protected or anything, just like on her server) for over 90 days. They know that I never accessed the files.
    But, because she quit the following week because she was not given the promotion she was promised months ago, I am now an accomplice to her "devious scheme to defraud our employer"

I want my job back. I did not nothing illegal, nor did I ever access the data. In the worst case, it was a lapse in judgment and I should have interrogated her as to why she wants to back up the data, but is that a reason for termination.

My questions are:

If they fire me for the theft of the data and I can prove in court I did not, is that wrongful termination?