Complete Labor Law Poster for $24.95
from www.LaborLawCenter.com, includes
State, Federal, & OSHA posting requirements

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I thought the days of fueudal peasants was extinct?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I thought the days of fueudal peasants was extinct?

I work in health care and what the prevailing trend of paying is sickens and infuriates me. They want automated robots that preform perfectly and keep to exactness so that managment can show a profit. Let me explain my point. We get hired for 8hr shifts. So naturally one would epect to recieve 8hrs pay for 8 hrs worked. no the new trend is "we don't pay you for your meal time." So that means they shave thirty minutes off your 8 hrs. So in a 40 hr week you get paid for 37. Which ok not great but then add insult on top of that. You can only punch in 7 min before your shift and are expected to get out no later than 7min after, even if your work is not done , then go back to finish it. If you work past the seven minutes and are still punched in they deduct every minute beyond along with your meal. Some how this does not seem fair to me; and I am sure it is unethical. They claim you must have prior ok to stay late. How do we know at start or even middle of shift that we will run out of time to write detailed nurse notes and make sure all the I's and T's are crossed and dotted. There is no way to prevent any of the interuptions that occur on a tour of duty all of which need to be handled as part of the job. Spending time teaching and answering questions, doing and documenting any treatments; plus other paper work that is required today; along with just tending to the patients. This all requires time and should be compensated.