This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• salaried employee Delaware

I have my own business and pay our Program Director a yearly salary. We are open Monday-Sat and closed on Sundays. The Program Director constantly complains about having to work "on weekends". The Program Director also counts her hours each week...and will not work over 40. What do you suggest I do about this?

Fire her and hire someone who is willing to accept the realities of business.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

I agree. What is your background? I just want to make sure that I have a legal right to fire her based on her counting hours...literally.

Comment

I have 26 years experience in Human Resources; currently own an HR consulting firm; write a weekly column on HR practices for a nationally distributed newsletter. I can point you at an employment attorney who has publically stated that he would be willing to put his own reputation on the line based on my knowledge of employment law.

Delaware is an at will state. You can fire her for any reason not specifically prohibited by law. I can assure you that no state prohibits an employer from firing an employee who refuses to work over 40 hours a week. But if you want more reassurance, feel free to contact a local employment attorney or call the Delaware DOL.
        The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Thank you so much for your response. I am going to let her know that she can be hourly if she wants to continue counting her hours and complaining about working one or two Saturdays a month. In the meantime, I will be looking for someone to replace her. Thanks again!

Comment