This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I entitled to exempt pay? California

My employer has classified me as an exempt employee since signing on in February of 2006, and, as such, I am not entitled to overtime pay. I am a computer professional (Systems Analyst) who designs, builds, and tests, software that comprises an electronic medical record system database. Am I entitled to an hourly rate at least as high as the threshold rate ($47.81 and $49.77) for Exempt Computer Software Employees for 2006 and 2007, respectively?
    Last edited by Bob Demers; 09-14-2007, 01:56 PM. Reason: syntax

I think this is a trick question.

You can be paid on a salary basis.
    Senior Professional in Human Resources and Certified Staffing Professional with over 30 years experience. Any advice provided is based upon experience and education, but does not constitute legal advice.

Comment

Originally posted by ScottB View Post
      I think this is a trick question.

You can be paid on a salary basis.
      With respect to your comment: "I think this is a trick question": I don't know what you mean. Are you saying that you think that I'm intending to trick you with this question? If so, I am certainly NOT doing that!

With reference to your remark "You can be paid on a salary basis": I will concede that my employer could have chosen to pay me at a salary that would be commensurate with the rates of pay that I've cited, but has not done so. Instead, my pay stub lists an hourly rate of pay, and my earnings are computed based on that hourly rate. I'm merely trying to ascertain whether or not my employer is obliged to pay me at the threshold rate, in view of the fact that I have been classified as "exempt".

No hidden agendas here, Scott!

Comment

Agreed. The federal rules can be found at the first webpointer. The somewhat stricter CA rules can be found at the second webpointer.