This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this right?? California

I am currently a Chef in the state of California.
    Recently I started work at a new restaurant but things seem odd to me.
    Please inform me if any of this wrong and what I can do about it.

1. Hours of employment is from 10:30am to 10:30pm with a 2hr. break (restaurant closed) between 2:30 to 4:30. So 10hrs a day with a 5 day work week totals to 50hrs per week. I am on salary, is this ok?? Do employees on salary get overtime??

2. Tip taxes, who pays?? The owner takes out 10% out of the total tip to pay tip tax. Also at the close of lunch and dinner, the owner does NOT show the credit card tip total so the wait staff and chef staff does NOT know exactly what the total is and we just accept what the employer gives us. There has been speculation that the owner is stealing from the cash tip, which has been seen by some staff members.

3. The owner also employs people without SSN and illegal immigrants. They are hourly based and do not get any overtime. I'm not sure but they might not even get minimum wage. Do they have any rights??

If I want to report any labor law violations, who/where do I report it to??
    Can I report it anonymously??
    Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
    Last edited by dm101; 08-10-2007, 02:23 AM.

1. "Salaried" is just a payment method, and does not mean anything by itself. Exempt employees never have legal claim to paid overtime and Non-Exempt employees must be paid overtime. An employee paid on a Salaried basis could be legally Exempt or Non-Exempt. I have no familarity with restaurant classifications. I can give you a point to the federal DOL classification rules.
    http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/complian...irpay/main.htm

2. There is no such thing as tip tax. This is not my area of expertise, but sounds very iffy.
    http://www.dol.gov/dol/topic/wages/wagestips.htm