X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Michigan Exempt Employee salary adjusted

Hi,
    I am an Accounting Manager, hired at the end of 2005 as an exempt employee at $XXX.XX annually. My initial workweek was 40 hours, my hours were & still are 7:00am - 3:30pm with 1/2 hr lunch (which I normally work through). I am paid bi-weekly. Mid 2006 I asked for Mondays off and they agreed, but adjusted my salary to a 32 hour workweek, along with my decreasing my pto benefit accruals to 80%. I stay late often and have frequently brought work home. It is not uncommon for me to work 40+ hours, but now I just don't get paid for it! Is it legal for them to have adjusted my salary down seeing that I am an exempt employee - even though I do my job completely - whether it be in the office or at home. I thought being an exempt employee meant you weren't clocked in & out, you were paid to do a job whether it took 20 hours or 60 hours.
    Last edited by Michigander; 08-02-2007, 03:16 AM.

Your salary is not based on whether you do or do not work 40 hours, or any other number of hours. The number of hours you work is irrevelant as an exempt employee. There is no magic about 40 hours for an exempt employee.

However, if you are only coming in 4 days a week, there is nothing illegal about adjusting your salary to reflect that.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Thanks for your response.