This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Being told by employer can't use my license on the side

I have a Sewer and Water operators license in PA. I pay for it and do the continuing ed. credits. I us it on the side for some small buisness that need a operator. My employer is telling me I can't us it anymore on the side. Can they do this? Do I have the right to fight this without loosing my fulltime job?

Yes they may do this as no law prohibits it.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Many businesses also have a no moonlighting clause in their handbook/contract/whatever, and they can fire you for doing so.

Comment

Since I've been there 18 years and was not hired under that rule. Which is supposed to go into effect in June. I have no ground to stand on. However if they the employer wants to pick up some extra work that needs a license that is ok?

Comment

Originally posted by claw1 View Post
          However if they the employer wants to pick up some extra work that needs a license that is ok?
          I don't understand the question.
          I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Pattymd ,I work for a Sewer and Water authority. They are thinking about checking another plant for another municipality. TO do this they need 2 operator licenses mine and the only other guy here with one. Since it is mine and I can't use it outside why is it okay for them to want to use it and profit from it and me not get anything for it.

Comment

If I understand the question correctly...

Because you work for them, they can require you to work wherever they want you to work. If they want you to check another plant in another municipality, they can do that because they are your employer.

Comment