This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forced Commute? Nebraska

I was hired in office 'a'. after a period of 3 months office 'b' opened up. I am now required to work at that office for shorter hours and it is a half hour commute. Due to this I am loosing over 50/week. They provide a car I have to go and pick up each morning at office 'a' to drive to and from office 'b'.
    Does that seem right? Do I have a leg to stand on to demand pay for this hour a day I'm loosing in pay?

Why do you have to pick up the car at "a" and drive it to "b"? If you are required to report to "a" first, then your compensible time starts when you arrive at "a" to pick up the car.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Is there a law stating such?
      It is because the car is a company car and I'm not allowed to take it home at night. But usually when I pick up the car at 'a' I don't even go into the office, I just hang on to the keys overnight to save timme in the morning.

Comment

http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/ESA/Ti...9CFR785.38.htm
        The fact that you don't turn in the keys is irrelevant; what is relevant is that you are required to return the vehicle to "a".

You're losing 50 what a week? If you're talking dollars because of the shorter hours, it's a tough break but it isn't illegal. Short of a bona fide contract prohibiting your transfer to a different location and/or cutting your hours, the employer is within his rights to do either.
        Last edited by Pattymd; 03-31-2007, 03:17 AM.
        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Only loosing about 6 hrs a week give or take an hour. But with my OT thats close to 75 a week that I can't afford to loose.