This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Filed complaint with OSHA Arizona

I am a mechanic working for a large public transit operation in Arizona. I work in a potentally dangerous shop and witnessed several unsafe operations(including and outside our shop) happen on a daily basis , and notified my supervisors several times about the conditons. We have recently (within the past year) had 3 lost time accidents. I filled out 12 safety recommendation reports and turned them in the correct box, only to watch them go unnoticed for 3 weeks. I finally had a chance to speak to our regional safety director, and showed him my reports sitting in the box. They sat for 2 more weeks till we had a new shop foreman take over and he asked me to give them to him(which I thought was about time), and I did. Some items where corrected, some where not.

Few weeks had gone by and I had come to work sick. I have sick time and asked my direct supervisor at the time if I could go home(I felt faint, dizzy, and had an upset stomach), which he allowed. The next day I was called in to the foremans office to see him. I was notified that I was on a 3 day supension, for leaving work early. I told him that it was unsafe for me to have stayed and worked on the equipment I maintain, and made a note to that on the paperwork telling me I was suspended.

I had gone home and looked up and found OSHA's web page and made a report complaining of unsafe work conditions, and discrimination. Two days ago I got a call from the local office asking me to elaborate on my complaint and how to find what I was talking about, and asked my situation. They inspected my shop yesterday, and today I came in to work to find out I'm suspended with out pay again pending investigation.