• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not getting last two weeks pay - Pl Help New Jersey

Hi,

Mine is a simple yet complex problem.

I really appreciate if you guys read it completely and help me so that
    I can proceed further.

I have been working with my employer for 2 years as a consultant on huorly basis. Till last month, I was working at the client's place in Stamford, Conecticut with a major investment bank through a middle vendor. The hirarchy was like this.

My Employer (KS) --> Middle Vendor (NJ) --> Client - Investment Bank (CT)

My employer had contract with middle vendor, who placed me at client's place on hourly basis. My employer is in Kansas. Middle vendor is in New Jersey, client is in Connecticut where I work.

The contract says that I will be paid $50 per hour and my work place will be Stamford, CT and contract will be for 12 months and a possible extension.

I resigned last month and gave 8 days verbal notice to the client and 6 days notice on phone to my employer. Now middle vendor says that I didn't give them formal notice as per agreement, so they won't pay last two weeks pay.
    My employer says that he won't pay me because he is not getting money from middle vendor.

Actually there was no agreement made as middle vendor is saying. In case it exists, I was not informed about that. I am sure it was not there. I was just forwarded a contract statement which is as below.
    ------------------------------------
    ASSIGNMENT DESCRIPTION: Programming services as directed by CLIENT.
    ASSIGNMENT LOCATION: xxx, Stamford, CT.

ASSIGNMENT START DATE & DURATION: 07/20/2006 up to 12 months
    (possible extension)

GUARANTEE: The vendor will provide two weeks guarantee without pay in
    the eventuality of the consultant lacking in the skills required for the job.

xxx Inc. agrees to pay the following fee for VENDOR consultant
    providing consulting services.

RATE AGREEMENT:

Consultant Name: xxx yyy
    Client:ABC Company

Rate $ 50.00/Hr