This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Photo Industry in NY New York

I am currently an Independant Contractor working as an assistant in the photo industry in New York City. The industry is quite insular and I've learned the hard way that unless you know your rights and keep firm to the agreements made before the shoot begins, then you can get walked all over. PA's in the film/tv industry are unionized, where the photo industry has no union.

Essentially I charge a day rate for a 10 hour day. Time and a half per hour worked after a 10 hour day.

I am considering jumping into a salaried position with a large company that employs assistants for various reasons- steady paycheck, higher profile jobs etc. Before i do, i want to know what my rights are as a salaried employee as to how long of a workday, do i have a right to ask for overtime (rumors of 20 hour days aren't unheard of) how many days in a row, etc.

Thanks

Assuming you are an exempt employee (salary is just a payment method), you could be asked to work 24 hours a day, 7 days a week without a penny of overtime.
    Not everything that makes you mad, sad or uncomfortable is legally actionable.

I am not now nor ever was an attorney.

Any statements I make are based purely upon my personal experiences and research which may or may not be accurate in a court of law.

Comment

Originally posted by larilou2007 View Post
      i want to know what my rights are as a salaried employee as to how long of a workday,
      With some industry specific exceptions, such as interstate truck drivers and airline pilots, you can only be required to work 24 hours a day. Make that 25 hours on the one day in the year when the clocks are turned back.

do i have a right to ask for overtime (rumors of 20 hour days aren't unheard of)