This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• break time in restaurant business California

I work as a server and i regularly have what's called "breaks" at my job... but i'm not sure if how they have us take our braks is right or not.

basic rundown:

you're told to take your break, so you go clock off. the next 30 minutes of my day is spent eating my food or whatever, and every 3-4 minutes i'll get up to see if my tables need anything. keep in mind we're supposed to clock off the second they tell us to take our break, so if we have tables that's our problem apparently.

now there is an option of transferring these tables to another server, but neither I nor any other employee does that, becuase well, we worked for our tips and we would like to keep them. Here's the problem, if i dont' transfer my tables, and i take my "break" is it legally a break, because i was under the impression that a break must be uninterrupted.

edit: another side question:
    Is my employer (manager) allowed to force me to do my cash-out (all the paperwork at the end of my server shift, regarding tips, sales, etc.) off the clock?

side question: i asked my employer for a copy of my hrs worked (i wanted copies of time cards to have more detail as to days hrs worked since i started, about 1.5 years back) I instead recieved a printout from what looks like the payroll department which shows the gross pay per pay period from when i started, now i can estimate hours worked per week by doing some math, but the problem of tips comes to mind becuase the gross pay includes tips which would throw the hourly off completely... is my employer required to keep a copy of my actual time cards or somethign a little more detailed than this report given to me? and if so are they required to present them to me if i request it?

thanks
    amikhchi
    Last edited by amikhchi; 11-14-2006, 02:21 AM.