ex helper filed a labor board complaint.. California

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ex helper filed a labor board complaint.. California

im a contractor in california, i have a sole prop business and i do most of the work myself, if its too much i generally hire subs. i used to have a helper that would use pretty regularly, he came and went as he pleased and i paid what he asked, nothing was ever in contract and he used all of my tools. one day he takes all my tools off the jobsite and goes MIA, about a week later he texts me saying he wants his paycheck, i tell him he can pick it up just bring all my tools back... he refuses and wants me to bring him cash and meet him in a parking lot, for obvious reasons i deny that request. a couple months pass and at this point im feeling it financially as im not able to work my own jobs without my tools, i lost thousands on the job i was working on because i had to pay another contractor to finish it. i file a police report against the guy but the DA says its a civil case. about a year passes at this point and i agree to pay him 2000 dollars for the return of all my tools, he left about 80 percent of the missing tools, some of which dont work anymore and all are in pretty rough shape, i gave him a check which i stopped payment on immediately. now he filed a complaint with the labor board for unpaid wages.. and damages to almost 10 thousand dollars.

opinions anyone?

BTW i never owed him 2000 dollars, that was the amount he was demanding
    Last edited by reaglebeagle04; 06-24-2016, 11:40 PM.

Sounds like you may have misclassified him as an independent contractor when you should have classified him as an employee, i.e., paid him via payroll with proper deductions and in compliance with CA labour laws.