X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with my employer please help

I KNOW IT IS LONG, SORRY FOR THAT, BUT IT IS INTERESTING

Hello,

I was in a bad situation at work and would much appreciate anyone’s help!

I am starting my story with some introduction. I have been working at a Hotel for more then 3 years already as a full time employee. On 23/11/2010 I turned up for my evening shift which was part of my split shift (7am-2:30pm and then 6pm-11pm ) and we had a function dinner that night for approximately 100 people. All the guests attending were employees from the hotels sales teams around Europe so our hotel was trying to do something special for them. Instead of the black shirt which is part of the uniform they gave us a long sleeve T-shirt each with signs on the back saying HAPPY, THANKS or GIVING. Around 7pm I was in the function room setting up some up lighters for the evening and because I was wearing the t-shirt saying "GIVING" I was called in front of the room so the managers can figure out how to place us to welcome the guests when they arrive. In the foyer were six people: three associates, my manager, my assistant manager, and the Director of Operations. They wanted to have three people in a line saying HAPPY, THANKS, GIVING. So I was asked by the Director of Operations to stand with my face 5-10cm away from the wall so the people can see my back when they are entering the room for the dinner for which I said to Director of Operations:
    "I don’t feel comfortable to stay here facing the wall while the people are coming in".

The Director of Operations’ answer was:
    "Well yes but you will do it" physically placing my shoulders in the position he wanted.

I then turned around and said:
    "No I don’t want to do it".

Director of Operations said proudly:
    "You will, You will".

Me:
    "No I will not do it".

Director of Operations:
    "Why not"?

Me:
    "Because I am not doing it".

Director of Operations: