This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Severance Pay Nevada

I am a Massachusetts resident who was employed by a firm located in Nevada. When I was hired in August of 2009, I negotiated a 1 year severance package with the President of the Company, in case of termination within 1 year of employment. In May, 2010 I was terminated (they are registered Broker/Dealer with SEC who cannot get their product through approval with the SEC) along with the entire Sales Force.

The employer is now stating they can no longer fullfill the remaining severeance agreement which is equal to 3 months salary. Can you provide guidance as to what my recourse is with this firm?

Your recourse is to have your severance agreement reviewed by a local attorney to determine whether it is legally binding and enforceable or not.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Originally posted by cbg View Post
      Your recourse is to have your severance agreement reviewed by a local attorney to determine whether it is legally binding and enforceable or not.
      It was originated by a lawyer/legal council when it was signed so I will assume it is binding but will seek legal council. Is my only recourse going to be a lawsuit?

Comment

Why don't you let your legal counsel determine that? I haven't read the agreement or any potentially qualifying language.
        The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

I guess I will need to go that route and hire a lawyer, was hoping to avoid the cost of legal expenses, thanks anyway

Comment

It's just that we can't comment on an agreement we haven't read. A lawyer in your
            area is your best bet.