X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suspicious Termination? California

Hi All,

Several weeks ago I was directed by one of my supervisors (I was a manager) that meal break violations (unpaid breaks taken after the 5th hour worked) would not be tolerated. If they continued to occur, managers would be written up for them. I obviously communicated as much to my staff and let them know they would also be documented if the violations continued to occur.

On a day that we were extremely short staffed and busy, I had 2 employees who were about to get a meal break violation. One of the employees was the one who brought it to my attention. She and the other employee were unable to leave their stations. I asked if she wanted to be punched out to prevent the violation and she said yes. I asked the other employee if he wanted to be punched out, and he said yes. I swiped them both out with their cards and then returned them. Their relief showed up a few minutes later and I sent them both to lunch.

Several weeks later, my boss and I decided to terminate the male employee. His performance was unacceptable and we began documenting. The employee, figuring out that he was about to be fired, typed up a long list of grievances, including the fact that I had in fact punched him out for a break.