X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Labor Laws in North Carolina

Hello,

i am originally from NYC and i am trying to understand the Labor Laws of NC. I have been working at a fast-food restaurant for a little over 3 months. During the last 2 weeks, a NEW General Manager has come in. This new manager has stated that he is cleaning house. He is hiring 20 new employees and getting rid of the employees that been there before he got there. I am not sure if I am one of those employees that he is getting rid of. Just yesterday, while i was at work, he hired 6 new employees. I have never been written up, never late, no issues or problems. Other employees stated to me that North Carolina is an "AT-WILL" state which means that anyone can get fired for no reason at all. Is this true?

The new manager also stated that whoever he fires he is not giving out unemployment. I am starting to look for a new job because I don't know what this new manager is going to do.

Someone please explain to me the Labor Laws and Rights of Employees in NC. Can this new manager just fire people without any reason? Any recommendations on what I should do. All responses are accepted. Thank you

Every state is an "at will employment" state except Montana, and even there, some times. So yes, this is legal.

However, the employer does NOT decide who gets unemployment benefits; the state does. Is this the first job you've had in NC?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Originally posted by Pattymd View Post
      Every state is an "at will employment" state except Montana, and even there, some times. So yes, this is legal.

However, the employer does NOT decide who gets unemployment benefits; the state does. Is this the first job you've had in NC?